how to delete or deactivate a facebook account.

Having an account on Facebook can be great fun. It can keep you in touch with people you'd otherwise lose out on.

But sometimes, enough is enough, and you just want out. You want, or maybe need, to close down your Facebook profile.

There are many reasons for shutting down your Facebook account, maybe worries over privacy, maybe to stop employers, or potential employers, snooping around your private life, or possibly to just give it all a rest.

Whatever the reason, you can either Deactivate your account if it's a temporary thing, or Delete it completely if it's going to be a permanent move.

Home » Computer Guides » How to Delete or Deactivate Facebook Account

deactivating and deleting a facebook account.

As I said above, deactivating a Facebook account is a temporary measure. But there's no time limit. You can leave your profile deactivated for as long as you want.

Deleting an account is permanent. You do get a grace period of around a month, but that's not guaranteed. If you're deleting, make sure you really want to do it.

If you're in any doubt, try deactivating your Facebook profile first. You can always delete it later if your happy.

Whether you're deleting or deactivating, getting to the right place to do it is the same for both.

To deactivate or delete your Facebook account, click the drop-down arrow in the top right corner.

Sometimes you won't be able to see the arrow, in this case, click your profile picture in the top right.

If you haven't set a profile picture, click the picture placeholder (the grey avatar).

Either way, a menu should open. Click SETTINGS AND PRIVACY, and then on the second menu, click SETTINGS.

On the Facebook General Account Settings page, click YOUR FACEBOOK INFORMATION, which is in the left-hand panel.

Click on DEACTIVATION AND DELETION.

You might have to scroll down the page a little to find it. It's usually right at the bottom.

Now you'll have a choice to make.

You can either deactivate your Facebook account temporarily or delete it permanently.

Select either DEACTIVATE ACCOUNT or DELETE ACCOUNT, then click the blue CONTINUE button.

At Home Computer Guide.

file explorer is missing.

Houston we have a problem. File Explorer is missing from the Taskbar.
Easily replace it.

Advertisement.

deactivating your facebook account.

We'll go through the process for both deactivating and deleting Facebook accounts, starting with deactivation.

If you're definitely going to delete your account, you can skip this step by clicking Delete Account

If you chose to deactivate your Facebook account, you'll now have to type in your Facebook password.

This is obviously a security measure to guard against pranks or malicious activity.

Click the CONTINUE button when ready.

"Are you sure you want to deactivate your Facebook account"?

Assuming that you are sure, select an option as to why your deactivating.

You have to select at least 1 option, but don't worry about it, just click on 1 of them, how truthful you are is up to you.

There's a couple of other options at the bottom of the page.

Do you still want to receive emails from Facebook?

And do you want to keep using Messenger?

Make your selections and then click the DEACTIVATE button.

One more confirmation window.

Click the DEACTIVATE NOW button.

The last thing to do is to log out.

That's it, your account will be deactivated when you hit the LOG OUT NOW button.

You can leave your Facebook account deactivated indefinitely, but don't log in to check it. If you do, it will be re-activated again and you'll have to go through the whole process again.

deleting your facebook account.

So OK, you've had enough of Facebook and you're going to delete your account.

Before you go ahead, do you want to download all the data from your Facebook profile? It'll include all your posts along with any pictures you've uploaded.

If you do, click How to Download your data.

You chose to delete your Facebook account.

Click the DELETE ACCOUNT button.

Confirm that the Facebook account belongs to you by entering your password.

Click the CONTINUE button when you're ready.

A confirmation window will appear. Are you sure?

After around a month, that's it, everything gone.

Ready, click DELETE ACCOUNT.

Oh, what have I done?

That's it. I'm being deleted.

download your facebook data.

Before you delete your Facebook account, did you want to download your profile data. All your posts and pictures and whatever other stuff Facebook has stored about you.

Click the DOWNLOAD INFO button.

You certainly don't have to download anything that you previously uploaded to Facebook if you don't want to. You could just click the DELETE ACCOUNT button.

But I'd suggest that you do download your stuff, especially if you've been on Facebook for any length of time.

In the main window (1), you can select or deselect exactly what you're going to download.

Everything is selected by default, you can deselect what you don't want or need by taking the tick out of the box.

When your happy, click the CREATE FILE (2) button.

If you wanted to upload this file to another social media website, you can change the format from HTML to a JSON file using the FORMAT box (3).

But for most of us, HTML is fine.

After clicking the CREATE FILE button, Facebook will do just that. And it will take some time.

It all depends on how much information there is on your profile to download.

Keep an eye on the Notifications Bell.

Facebook will let you know when your file is ready for downloading.

When it's ready, click the AVAILABLE COPIES tab.

Download the file by clicking the DOWNLOAD button.

You'll need to type in your Facebook password before the download will start.

Once you've downloaded your information from Facebook, there doesn't seem to be any way to continue with the account deletion other than to start all over again by clicking on the arrowhead (or your profile picture) in the top right corner, and then going through the various menus and screens.

Click this link to go to the top of this page

Shows an animated pencil drawn printer, printing a page with a heart on it.
printer friendly page.

You can print a summary of this page here.
The printed version doesn't have any pictures or ads, so saves ink & paper.

google drive cloud backup.

Save your most precious pictures into the cloud for safekeeping. It's easy to do and a lot better than losing them.

gmail.

Do you use Google's email service Gmail?
How to add pictures, links & attachments to Gmail E-Mails.

why do you need a VPN?

Do you need a virtual private network service? We'll look at the 3 main reasons that people are signing up.

scan for malware.

Use the free version of the powerful malware scanner to check your computer for viruses, trojans, hijackers etc.